DSM: Why are there so many versions?

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) is the official classification of mental disorders. It is updated every few years by psychiatrists as expert thinking evolves over time. The history of the DSM versions are:

1952: DSM-I

1968: DSM-11

1980: DSM-III

1994: DSM-IV

2013: DSM-5


By Dr. Terra Caudill, MD, MS