DSM-5: Schizophrenia

The following changes have been made to the Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorders chapter in the DSM-5.

1) 2 (instead of 1) Criteria A symptoms are required for diagnosis.
2) The individual must also have either delusions, hallucinations or disorganized speech.

Schizophrenia Subtypes:
The DSM-IV subtypes (paranoid, disorganized, catatonic, undifferentiated and residual) have been eliminated, as they have not been shown to have a difference in treatment response.

Schizoaffective Disorder:
The DSM-5 now requires that a mood disorder be present during the majority of the disorder’s duration, making it a longitudinal rather than a cross-sectional diagnosis.

Delusional Disorder:
The diagnosis of “Shared Delusional Disorder” has been eliminated.

The DSM-5 has increased the number of required catatonic symptoms to 3 out of 12 in order for the diagnosis to be made.


By Dr. Terra Caudill, MD, MS